Skip to content

When My Love for Noori Melted like a Cornetto in a Lahore Summer

March 16, 2010
tags:

The people, who know me, know that I’m an unabashed Noori fan! Whereas, Junoon defined my prepubescent years, Noori’s music was the soundtrack of my awkward teenage years, and I loved even the not-so-great songs of theirs. Then, Noori had a Maza-Zindagee-Ka moment the other day when they sang for an icecream company!

Noori and Cornetto! No way! I banished Call from my good books when they did a similar gig for Cornetto last year, with that horrible bubblegum Ho Janay De. I can’t do this to Noori! It’s a huge shift for the brothers who are going more “mainstream”, which apparently means to make “accessible” music, which probably means that we should expect a duet with Naseebo Lal (Come to think of it, that might not be a bad idea). What concerns me about this development is how will it affect the band’s music, especially after the teaser they gave all of us, in the second season of Coke Studio. It means my plans to learn to play guitar and head a tribute band, called Noori Nut (yes, a Maula Jatt reference!), are suspended.

However, the song is freaking Catchy! Noori doesn’t do catchy. This is so wrong. But the freaking song is freaking catchy.

However, Man-crush Alert!

How Ali Hamza evolved over the years. From the boy-next-door-look, to the Jesus-look, and now to a sexy-rockstar-I-will-eat-you-like-a-cornetto look.

Perhaps, this is something they need to get themselves financially secure, which would eventually lead to more artistic freedom. I’m still a huge fan! Can’t wait for the upcoming Gulbaqoli!

Noor: “After all these years, how did I end up doing this?”

Also, another video, this week, is by the “Ganderi” boys Symt, with a glam-rock-pop music video, but with what style yaar!

P.S. Sorry for the bad video captures on this post. My photo editing software went kaboom, which also made me abort more daring posts.

Update 1: Just realised that,  Junaid Khan (Call) has a classic Paedosmile

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 6:08 am

    Kia behtareen gana hai. What a nice Bollywood-style feel to it. 🙂 As for the video, I am so happy Ali Hamza is finally getting some action vis-a-vis babes. Previously it was all that whore Ali Noor who got all attention. And you are spot-on about his change of phases. Clearly, his days of running away to Multan to seek Sufi inspiration are behind him. Good riddance, I say.

  2. March 19, 2010 6:08 am

    And Noori Nut is a completely brilliant name. Top class! Six runs!

  3. March 20, 2010 1:24 am

    Yes, thats the annoying part. I’m still listening to it. Oye! Noori Nut membership open! Also, we are going to cover eP songs. You can do the rap bits. You would be the brown boy coming straight from the “L” Town.

  4. Saba Imtiaz permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:58 am

    “sexy-rockstar-I-will-eat-you-like-a-cornetto look” – Best line ever.

    • March 24, 2010 7:34 pm

      Well, haha, I don’t even remember writing that one. From what I can recall I wanted to say that Ali Hamza had this look on him which seemed like he wants to eat someone like a cornetto. All’s well that ends well, I suppose. My ego massaged.

  5. April 3, 2010 2:05 pm

    umm Ali Hamza got married around the time you wrote this post. Check our their Vlog No 2

    • April 3, 2010 6:44 pm

      Yes, indeed mr KK. I know. I loved the part in the vlog when the wife tells Hamza that if he looked like him, in the Nishaan video, she would have said No! haye! classic!

Leave a Reply

